With the announcement of The Blackwood Design Awards 2018 shortlist imminent, we’ll be interviewing Designers, Engineers and World-Renowned Thinkers to get the inside scoop on the most innovative developments in the field of Assistive Technologies.

In the first in our series of interviews, we talk to Chris Shore, Founder of the AquaPlane - a three in one swimming aid, and buoyancy device with multiple endorsements from world class swimmers and swim schools up and down the country for its ability to adapt to its users needs throughout the learning process.

"I’ve been a swim teacher for over ten years now, and there was nothing on the market that was ‘multi-use’. As a swim teacher you are traveling around different sites, many teachers have their own equipment, and there was nothing that did more than one job. You had to take, a dozen kickboards, a dozen back floats and it was hard to manage- more expensive, more storage space. I thought to myself, ‘why isn’t there something that does both jobs?’ And so, the idea and the concept grew from there.

It took the best part of three years to get the design work done, and all the protection, the health and safety checks and buoyancy aids, sea testing, and the trademarks. It’s not a simple process. There’s so many different boxes that need to be ticked in order to ensure the safety the kids.

It’s been a long journey, but now it’s just a case of getting it out there and letting people know what a great piece of equipment it is for a swim teacher, and most of all, how good it is to help the kids learning to swim."

Though conceived primarily as a learning aid for kids, thanks to its innovative and adaptive design, AquaPlane is ideal for young swimmers of all abilities, and that is an area Chris is keen to expand upon as the company grows.

"We stock several swim schools that focus on helping kids and adults with disabilities, both physical and learning, and we’ve received great feedback.